Welcome to the Posse

Posted January 10th, 2013

Welcome to the Mustang Sallies Posse!

You’ve just bought yourself a ticket to a date with some amazing women that will serve up some bad ass mojo, inspiring food for thought, and plenty of juice to inspire you to action!

Yay you. Well done.

So let’s get ready to ride, yes?

Here are all the nitty gritty details for our next posse gathering:

When
Saturday, June 7th from 9:30-12:30

Where
The posse will be gathering the Maine Center for Taijiquan & Qigong, which is a studio located at 500 Forest Avenue in Portland, Maine. You will enter the studio from the BACK of the building, which you access by their parking lot located on the corner of Forest and Noyes streets (please note: Noyes is a ONE-WAY street…if coming down Forest, you can turn in the Exxon/Mobil gas station and then go out the NOYES street exit – you’ll see a parking lot just across Noyes from Exxon…that’s where you’ll enter. Either park in the lot or on street).

What you can expect:

  • This three-hour gathering held in a open studio-like space and will be very informal, so wear comfortable clothing and expect to sit on floor cushions
  • I’ll be offering up a wide range of experiences over the course of our morning – music, movement, reflection, writing, visuals, discussion – as a means to connect us, unlock the juice and let it flow.
  • Every posse gathering will begin with a period of Plugging In, designed to connect us as women, and open up the doors for messages/clarity from the earth (archetypal feminine) as well as the sky (spirit)
  • We’ll then move into a period of Naming, where you’ll be asked to flush out some words to hang on the bones of what you want your work in this world to be.
  • The last phase of each gathering will be dedicated to Striking a Match, and support you in more fully claiming and owning your vision through words and action.
  • You can expect the benefits of your Mustang Sallies experience to extent beyond the scope of our three-hours, as women connect organically outside each gathering and over social media to support/bear witness to one another.

What to bring:
Comfortable clothes – layers are good as the temperature may fluctuate
Water bottle and/or light snack if needed (although I’ll have bottled water for you as well as bags of my famous Mustang Sallies Trail Mix…)
Journal or notebook and something to write with (although I’ll be giving everyone an “official” Mustang Sallies notebook if you’d like to use that…)
Some things you can be thinking about in advance:
Where is someplace you want to move into professionally that scares you? See if you can name what scares you.
What is calling you – again and again – but you’re hesitant to open the door? What’s on the other side of the door?
Where are you holding yourself back in your work in this world? What would happen if you didn’t?
What have you been dreaming about?
What do you want to reach for professionally? I don’t care if you don’t have it figured out yet…be vague, but spit it out.
Where would you like to take yourself more seriously with regard to work? What would that look like?
Where are you playing small at work? What would playing BIG look like?

Ok then! Saddle up! Off we go! See you on June 7th!

Don’t hesitate to call if you have any questions or need additional information before the gathering. You can reach Lael at 207.671.8936

Mustang Sallies: A Posse For Women On Purpose

Posted November 14th, 2012

“What I got from Mustang Sallies was unexpected and ended up impacting more than just my career…I accessed a part of myself I had denied for a very long time: a wise, feminine artist spirit, who is real and easy. Something incredible happened in this intimate group of women that helped me see myself more clearly.”

Give me one Saturday morning. The rest will take care of itself.

All set to ride at the next Mustang Sallies ride on Saturday, February 7th? Registration is now open and you can get your ticket to ride right here (and at link at the bottom of this page). Need a bit more info before deciding? Then by all means, read on for more details…

Mustang Sallies offers women like you the creative space to listen deeply to what is trying to make an entrance into the world. Through you.

It also connects you to a posse of kindred spirits who are seeking to do the same thing – lest you feel alone. The objective of this 3-hour gathering is to support you in cutting through all the noise in your life so you can see, hear, touch and feel what is trying to get your attention. Simply put, it’s about holding counsel with the wisest and truest part of yourself. The one that lives inside. Under all the shoulds.

Why is this important?

It might not be, and that’s okay. But the women I work with are tired of waiting, starting to feel bored, burned out, and hungry for something else. Something new. Or more. At their core, there is a hot ember that is asking for some oxygen to be blown on it – maybe an adventure. Or just space to roam. To dream. I call these women “Mustang Sallies” because, ultimately, they don’t do well penned in by fences or sequestered in stalls. It’s in their nature to crave open fields – in blue sky country.

It’s important to me because this is my story, too. I’m a Mustang like you.

I created this experience because I believe deeply in doing our part as women to accelerating the inevitable – whatever it is you’re meant to be doing, moving toward, opening to, embodying. Mustang Sallies lovingly and fiercely insists women – individually and collectively – move toward the place their true nature and essential gifts (I call it their “secret sauce”) intersect with passion, play, and impact. But I know those “big sky” moments – time, space, structure – are rare, so I design them with a great deal of intention with the hope that something that is accessed within them will inspire eventual movement. And it all begins with deep listening.

“Lael creates this space like a Big Mama, shepherding the energy through creative and body-moving exercises that are at once fun, nourishing and powerful. Mustang Sallies blew me away.”

The premise of Mustang Sallies is simple: The world needs what you’ve got, so spit it out, woman.

Easier said then done, right? I get it. It’s so tempting to ignore that longing or insistent voice inside you that just won’t stop badgering you. I get that you’re busy (most of my clients are). I get that you don’t feel quite ready. Or enough. I get how seductive it can be to just stay where you are for a little bit longer. And I also get how there will always be some good reason that keeps you from entertaining a new possibility, and how “someday” can drag out to next month… next year…when I have enough time, money, confidence…when someone asks me…or the right opportunity presents itself.

But what if you didn’t wait any longer? To simply listen. Then maybe dream.

That’s the place where we play in Mustang Sallies. This Posse offers women a chance to do just that – to play with listening, spitting it out, naming it, fessing up, and possibly owning it…and then taking that first step toward making it happen. It doesn’t matter if “it” (whatever “it” is for you) is already in the works, stopped and then stalled, or is just a twinkle in your eye. Mustang Sallies is all about breaking from the herd – mustering the courage to think big(ger), bolder, and more expansively about yourself…and then perhaps take those thoughts out into big sky country to see how they rides.Whether or not you do anything specific or make big, bold decisions as a result of this gathering is up to you. Some women do. Many don’t. But there is always movement of some sort, even if it’s internal.

And the beauty of it? You don’t need to do it alone. In this Posse, we’ve got your back.

“I give myself the gift of Mustang Sallies again and again…it provides me with the time to refocus, get centered on what I need at that particular moment, and to meet more amazing women who are blazing their own trails.”

Women can be phenomenal allies for each other, and Mustang Sallies will show you how it’s done if that’s a new experience for you. In this posse, women get fierce and loving for themselves and for each other – holding space for courage, acknowledging the holy shit factors that can arise in us, and insisting that we not settle for anything less than our instincts demand from us. We’re pretty badass that way.

Mustang women do it anyway. Even in the face of fear and doubt and uncertainty. Because we have each other.

The fact is, we need each other. Every woman seeking to step into something new or bold or unknown could use a pack of women to have her back, give her high fives, booster shots of courage, or a kick in the pants to quit talking about it and just do it. It feels so good to have another woman say “Do that!”, “Go there!” or “You’re not crazy, you’re onto something!”

That’s what this posse is about. Women being champions for themselves and each other.

Mustang Sallies is a fierce posse of women that stands its ground together.

The intent of this posse is to support working women like you in being more expansive – especially when society and workplace culture would prefer if we play small. It’s not about doing more (because you’re already busy, right?), but it’s about bringing more of who you already are to the work you do in the world. And trusting it. Trusting you.

It’s about women changing the world. Ride Sally, Ride.

Here’s how it will work:

  • The Posse gathers in Portland, Maine for three hours on a Saturday morning.
  • Each posse gathering will be structured around the same three components (Plugging In, Naming It, and Striking a Match), but may contain different women each time – some have ridden before, some will be riding for the first time.
  • This is not your mother’s “leadership workshop” – it will be fiery, irreverent, non-traditional, unapologetic, and revolutionary. This posse is about keeping it real, calling it out, blowing through it, and feeding the bad-ass heretic inside you that knows the answer. There will be substance, humor and more than a little swearing as we get to the heart of what matters and juice up on some good mojo.
  • Each three-hour Posse gathering is $225.

What you’ll get:

  • A chance to quiet your chattering mind and listen to what your body is trying to tell you
  • Clarity on what you want and who you want to be in your work in the world
  • Inspirational brew to support you in continuing to hatch your plan and take yourself seriously
  • Fiery mojo to inspire you long after our ride is over and handful of fierce champions to hold you accountable and celebrate

Ready to ride?

The next Posse gathering will be on Saturday, February 7 from 9:30-12:30

Registration is now open.  There are a limited number of seats, grab your while they’re hot! Get your ticket to ride on Brown Paper Tickets and join us. After you buy your ticket, your confirmation email will contain a link for all the nitty-gritty details for the event.

Ride, Sally. Ride.

If you’d like to find out more about this posse and how it works, let me know and we’ll talk more to see if it’s a good fit for you – now or in the future.

Mojo Infusions for Women Leaders

Posted July 3rd, 2012

When seeking to make change happen, I’m convinced the edge is where it’s at. It’s the place where movement finally happens.

And it’s the place to which women are being called to lead. Now.

You know what I mean by “the edge”, right? Those places that feel lonely and scary to go – like taking a stance and digging in when there is pressure to just go along, the times when your idea feels heretical and outlandish, those instances when you decide to break rank trust your instincts over the general consensus?

That is when you’re leading from the edge – you’re taking a risk, you’re putting yourself out there, you’re being honest, you’re not asking for permission, nor are you apologizing or watering yourself down.

It’s you. Unencumbered by doubt or fear. It’s you…leading.

Engaging with others –  and with yourself as a leader – at the edge creates the friction that gives the status quo a run for its money. It’s refreshingly bold and honest. It cuts to the chase and is incredibly efficient and laser sharp in its focus.

As a result, it inspires engagement, fuels creativity, generates innovative solutions and ultimately, creates change.

Women have this capacity and deep down we all know it. The trick is, we’re often afraid to use it fully.

Because it take a boatload of courage and fortitude to lead from the edge –

The edge of comfort

The edge of control

The edge of safety

The edge of competency

Yes, sometimes even the edge of logic.

And sometimes it’s easier not to. Sometimes it’s easier to fly under the radar, the blend in with the group and to

Those are the days doubt and fear reign over us as women leaders.

Recalibrating Sessions for Entrepreneurs

Posted June 6th, 2012

As an entrepreneur, I’ve come to appreciate just how lonely  and overwhelming it can feel running your own business – even in the best of times, when you’re riding high.

At any one moment, you are responsible for marketing, technology, human resources, legal, finance, research and development, facilities, and operations. Oh, and most of you have a life outside your work (which is one of the reasons you became an entrepreneur, right?), with family, friends and things that have nothing to do with your business.

It’s all you – or maybe it’s you with a few trusted partners. But most days it feels like it’s all you.

I get that. I get that every connection, every event, every exchange becomes an opportunity to reinforce your brand, to enlist a new customer or client, and to promote your business in the community.

It’s hard to know who to talk to on those days when your honest reaction to “How’s your business going?” is: “Good, but I’m not sure how much longer I can keep this up” or “Good, but I feel like I’m working really hard and I’m still not getting it all done…paying myself enough…or having the impact I know I can have.”

It’s hard to know who to talk to when you’ve hit your stride as an entrepreneur, but you sense there is still more for you – especially when you feel like you’re already at capacity with regard to your time, resources and energy.

That’s why I created these recalibrating sessions for women entrepreneurs.

These one-on-one sessions create that safe space for a business owner – individually or with their business partner(s) – to do an organizational “stop, drop, and roll”. In private, with just me as your guide and witness.

I bring my full tool-kit as a consultant to these sessions and lean heavily into my skills as a coach with regard to listening intently, leveraging what you already know about yourself and your business, and holding you accountable to what you want.

You bring what you’ve got – not necessarily the spreadsheets, statistics and data (although those are helpful), but the information, insights and intuition that live within you. We use that the most. We keep it real and let it be what it is – confusing, contrary and messy, or clear, obvious and exciting. It’s all good and welcome.

Recalibration sessions are highly customized to meet the specific needs of each business owner, and we decide in advance how you want to use them. They do, however, tend to follow a predictable flow of topics over the course of four distinct 90-minute sessions:

Session One: Orienting

We begin by examining where you are in your business to date – what you set out to do and what you’re actually doing, your levels of happiness and fulfillment, your observations and learnings, your investments of time and money, and the return it’s giving you. We’ll create a fuller picture of your business by factoring in the feedback you’ve been given, what feels effortless, and what feels draining. We’ll overlay you and your life onto this picture and make note of what you like, what concerns you and what’s missing.

Session Two: Envisioning

This is where we’ll zoom in on what you really want for yourself in the context of the work you do in the world. We’ll look at those “sweet spots” of convergence where the work you do feels easy and natural, and is consistently being met with success. We’ll make note of the messages you’re receiving, the itches you want to scratch and the places and opportunities you’re opening up to. We’ll explore those juicy ideas you’ve been chewing on, and see which ones light you up. We’ll expand your notions of what’s possible and call your bluff on where you’re playing small and keeping it safe. This is the place of dreaming big and calling it in.

Session Three: Recalibrating

This is the place where the rubber meets the road. We’ll look at where you are in relation to where you want to be and we’ll start to identify ways to close that gap and move toward what you envision. On a very concrete level, we’ll set you up for success with your intentions by looking at the priorities, choices, and expectations that will best support you. We’ll boil it all down to its essence, revealing what you’ll be letting go of in this next chapter and what will be taking center stage. Finally, we’ll examine all this in the context of you living your life, integrating your recalibrated vision for yourself professionally so that it aligns with your life as a whole.

Session Four: Sustaining

This final session generally occurs two to three months after the third session. The space in between this session and the last one allows the sediment from your work to settle a bit, affording you the chance to reflect on your decisions, take action, play with new perspectives, and implement some of the practices you elected to put in place. We come back together in this final session to check-in on what is working, what’s not, what’s missing, and what needs refinement as a result.

Does this speak to you? Is it time to recalibrate?

Recalibration sessions are ideally suited to those business owners who have been in operation for at least two to five years, but they may appeal to others as well. You need not know exactly what you want or where you’re headed in order to engage in these sessions (in fact, that’s often the point of them…to find out). Most of my clients often have this vague sense of unrest – some having arrived at a plateau in their business, and some feeling as if they are approaching a new chapter, but they’re not entirely clear on what it looks like.

You get to determine the frequency with which these sessions occur based on the needs and schedule of your business. That being said, my entrepreneurial clients tend to have a “get it done” mentality, preferring to place these 90-minute sessions no more than two to three weeks apart to ensure they stay focused and make the best use of their time while they have it.

If you are a woman entrepreneur and these sessions are calling out to you, feel free to contact me to get more detailed information and see if they might be a good fit for you.

Recharges for Women Leaders

Posted May 29th, 2012

I’ve heard it said over and over again by women leaders in many different ways:

  • “It’s all so heady…I’m not sure I’m buying into my own logic any more”
  • “I’ve got a hitch in my giddyap…”
  • “I want my swagger back…”
  • “My job is incredible, but it’s killing me…”

These are the words of women leaders who are out there trying to create change in the world.

They are lit from within with purpose, passion and determination to make a difference, live their lives fully, and do their part to help shape and create a better world. They are often trail-blazers, stubborn, slightly irreverent, intuitive and fiercely independent. They tend to be quick-studies, resourceful and humble – often not realizing the powerful and positive impact they are having on those around them.

They are also bone tired, seeking inspiration, and often feel lonely and overwhelmed – especially if they are the one with the vision for something better and are leading a charge. As confident and head-strong as they might seem, they are also craving a foothold – a safe haven to catch their breath, an indication that they’re on the right track, and some new perspectives and strategies to sharpen their skills and fortify their reserves.

They typically don’t seem themselves as leaders, but that’s a whole other conversation.

Having worked with these women for years one-on-one as a consultant, and having heard their stories in my women’s experiences, it’s clear there is a desire to come together with other women – to be validated, inspired, and recharged to go back out there and keep creating change.

Recharges were created for women leaders to scratch this itch.

If you look up “Recharge” in the dictionary, you will find it means “to replenish the electricity in something.”

Recharges are your ticket to replenishing your electricity as a woman and as a leader.

They are like double shot lattes for your psyche. They are small gatherings of big women interested in creating change. They are like 90-minute jam sessions, where experience and information are shared, ideas are explored, and plans are hatched.

They wake you up, infuse you with possibilities – both practical and heretical – and send you on your way 90-minutes later, walking a bit taller and feeling a bit stronger.

That’s what Recharge sessions do for women – they give them the time, space and structure to plug back in – to themselves, to what they know, to each other – and juice up their batteries. They offer food for thought, space for reflection, tools to try, perspectives to consider, and strategies to be architects and navigators of change.

Sometimes a simple recharge is all that’s needed to put the wind back in your sails.

Check-out upcoming Recharge sessions below to find which one best suits your needs.  Keep checking back, as plans for new Recharge sessions are frequently being hatched. Have an idea for one based on what you’re seeing/experiencing? Let me know and we’ll see what emerges.

Upcoming Recharges for Women Leaders

    • Just for Corporate Women

This 90-minute recharge session was designed specifically for women who are seeking to create change from within the context of the corporate world.

Her preparation is thorough, her deliver is articulate

Posted March 1st, 2012

Her ability to name the places where we were stuck, ask the right questions

Posted March 1st, 2012

When you work with Lael, you know you can trust her right away

Posted March 1st, 2012

Lael understands the complicated relationship of a woman

Posted March 1st, 2012

Lael’s strategic insight and questioning…

Posted February 27th, 2012